Write-in Candidates for JEA Executive Board

Fellow teachers,

We are still three candidates shy of a full slate for the JEA Executive Board. The open positions are:

a high school member at large, and

two middle school members at large.

Please consider filling one of these important positions. Though the nomination period has closed, there can still be write-in candidates for these positions. I’ll make sure to notify our members of write-in candidates before the election, which will begin Friday. Please email me if you can run at jeamembership@gmail.com

Here is a link that describes some of the duties of these positions: 


Dirk Miller
JEA vice president.

Nominations are now open!

JEA members,

It’s time to nominate fellow union members for positions on JEA’s Executive Board and to attend the national Representative Assembly this summer in Denver, Col. We have eight open seats on the JEA board, which governs the activities of our local association.  Please consider nominating yourself or fellow JEA members for these important positions. The positions are: president, vice president, two high school members at large, two middle school members at large, health chair and educational excellence chair. The president and vice president terms are for one year. One of the middle school and one of the high school positions are one-year terms. The rest are two-year terms. For more information on the positions, copy and past the following link in your browser: http://yourjea.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/jeabylaws2011.pdf.
JEA is also considering sending two representatives to the national Representative Assembly in Denver, Colorado,July 1 – 6. For more information on this important event, copy and past the following link in your browser: http://www.nea.org/grants/2014-annual-meeting-agenda.html

Nominations should be forwarded to jeamembership@gmail.com by Friday, April 4.

Dirk Miller
JEA vice president