JEA Committees 2020-2021

Ad-Hoc Committees

Air Quality ad-hoc

Listens to member concerns regarding building air quality, communicates with school district and JEA Executive board.
Taylor Young, co-chair
Dirk Miller, co-chair
COVID ad-hoc

Listens to member concerns regarding COVID and SMART Start Plan and communicates with school district leadership
Kelly Steward, chair
Chris Knight
Semra Deaner
Dana Wyatt
Jeannette Sleppy
Policy ad-hoc

Makes recommendations to the executive board on financial, administrative, and program policies and procedures
Jeannette Sleppy, chair

Standing Committees


Publishes regular newsletter, plans and implements a public relations program, and perform other duties as assigned
Amy Lloyd, chair
Ed Excellence

Organize the Read Across America event, coordinate the JEA Scholarship Fund, provide professional development mentoring programs, and other programs that improve education in Juneau. 
Liz Agnew, chair

Survey member health insurance needs, research health insurance options, provide a conduit of information between JEA and the health insurance provider and make recommendations for changes in service, to the Representative Council.
Barb Bonner, chair

Explain benefits of membership to new hires, plans annual New Hire Gathering or similar event, prepare New Member Packets annually, maintain contacts with each building for membership updates, review membership counts and locations monthly at the Representative Council meetings. 
Michelle Martin, chair 
a. The Negotiations Committee shall:
i. Elect a Committee Chair by the second meeting. The President or Vice President will serve as the Chair of the Negotiations Committee until a chair is elected/appointed;ii. Conduct membership surveys; iii. Provide support to the Negotiations Team. Support may include, but is not limited to: 1. Distributing negotiation information to active members; 2. Organizing meals for the negotiating team; 3. Facilitating solidarity events and actions necessary to support the bargaining process; 4. Negotiations communications; 5. Other activities deemed necessary. 
The 2018/2019 JEA Bargaining Team
Semra Deaner
Sunshine Winn
Kelly Stewart
Michele Thompson
Jay Watts
Jeannette Sleppy
Amy Lloyd
NEA-Alaska Uniserve Director, Monica Southworth 
Be responsible for surveying and publishing candidates’ positions on educational issues. The PACE Committee shall be responsible for taking positions on and actively working for or against ballot issues impacting education. The PACE committee may choose to endorse and actively support candidates in local elections, which includes assembly and school board. The PACE Committee may provide recommendations on statewide candidates to the NEA-Alaska PACE Committee. 
Katie Pittman, chair

Provide and coordinate for training workshops with NEA-Alaska; receive, evaluate, and process grievances and complaints of contract violations; and educate members about the grievance process
Semra Deaner, chairKate Vulstek 

Make arrangements for any social event deemed necessary by the Executive Board. The Members-At-Large are members of this committee as well as any other interested members in good standing.